Press Release: New members added to NSTMF Board of Directors

Guiding voices for the Foundation

News from the National Science and Technology Medals Foundation
For release January 21, 2021
Contact: Allison Courtin, [email protected], 202-630-6199

Washington, D.C. – The NSTMF added three new members to its board of directors in 2020, Afua Bruce, Monique Dorsainvil, and Smita Satiani. These new members join Jim Rathmann, Vinton Cerf, Megan Roberts, Todd Elmer, Dick Elkus, and Robin Rathmann-Noonan in guiding the Foundation’s work and efforts to create more inclusive and equitable STEM communities across the country.

Afua Bruce is the Chief Program Officer at DataKind and an accomplished tech strategist focused on social good. Throughout her career, Bruce has worked at the intersection of data and sustainability, security, technology, STEM education, and social change. Bruce’s career has ranged from software engineering at IBM to serving as executive director of the White House’s National Science and Technology Council under the Obama Administration. Now at DataKind, Bruce’s work focuses on harnessing the power of data science and AI in service of humanity.

Monique Dorsainvil works in Public Policy at Facebook, leading engagement with third-party think tanks, advocacy organizations, and civil and human rights organizations. Before joining Facebook, Dorsainvil served in the Obama Administration for seven and a half years, most recently as Deputy Chief of Staff to Senior Advisor Valerie Jarrett. During Dorsainvil’s tenure at the White House, her responsibilities ranged from working with grassroots advocates, private sector leaders, celebrity influencers, and local and federal elected officials to lead outreach efforts and create social impact campaigns with communities across the country.

Smita Satiani is the Head of Innovation Policy at X’s Project Taara. Prior to Project Taara, Smita was the Director of Engagement for the White House’s Presidential Innovation Fellows. Smita brings years of experience in non-profit management, policy creation, and STEM-related outreach campaigns. She has developed substantive and productive relationships throughout the STEM community and continues to be an effective leader in a current role.

“We are humbled and honored to bring Afua, Monique, and Smita on as board members. We look forward to working with them to fulfill our Foundation’s bold mission and vision for the future of STEM,” said Andy Rathmann-Noonan, executive director of the NSTMF.

The National Science and Technology Medals Foundation is a DC-based, non-profit organization whose mission is to build inclusive STEM communities across the United States. Fundamental to these communities are the significant, inspirational connections we foster between the individuals who have received national recognition for excellence in STEM and today’s diverse generation of college and high school students. Together they will pave the way for a more equitable future in science and technology.

The National Science & Technology Medals Foundation is not affiliated with the United States Government.

Your contribution to the NSTMF not only serves to celebrate scientific advancement, ingenuity, and exploration, but also symbolizes your commitment to building a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive future in STEM.


For monthly updates about NSTMF's work, events, and programs.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.