Photo of An Evening With Titans of Nanotechnology
Unscripted Series

An Evening With Titans of Nanotechnology

Join us on November 8, 2018, at Northwestern University for a discussion with the men and women shaping our lives at the molecular level.

October 11, 2018

From nanomedicine to molecular architecture, nano-science is radically changing the way we navigate the world, receive medicine, heal from injuries, even the way we wash our hair.

On November 8 at the Kellogg Global Hub, the National Science and Technology Medals Foundation, in collaboration with Northwestern’s International Institute for Nanotechnology, will host An Evening With Titans of Nanotechnology.

Experts in nanomedicine, molecular architecture, nanosystems, and biotechnology will discuss the most significant breakthroughs and the challenges that still remain for health and technological improvements. The event will bring together some of the most accomplished scholars in the field, including Dr. Sangeeta Bhatia, Dr. Robert Langer, Dr. Chad Mirkin, and Dr. Fraser Stoddart. The conversation will be moderated by Dr. Shana Kelley.

Following the panel discussion, audience members will be able to ask questions of the speakers during an open Q&A session.

This event is free and open to the public. Please register in advance to guarantee admittance. Save your seat!  
For those unable to join us in person, the event will be broadcast live on Facebook.



Sangeeta Bhatia

Dr. Bhatia is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and the John J. and Dorothy Wilson Professor at MIT. She is the Director of the Marble Center for Cancer Nanomedicine, and a member of the Ludwig Center for Molecular Oncology – both part of the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT. Trained as both a physician and engineer, Bhatia has pioneered technologies for interfacing living cells with synthetic systems, enabling new applications in tissue regeneration, stem cell differentiation, medical diagnostics, and drug delivery

Shana Kelley

Dr. Kelley is a Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Biochemistry, and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Toronto. The Kelley research group works in a variety of areas spanning biophysical/bioanalytical chemistry, chemical biology, and nanotechnology, and has pioneered new methods for tracking molecular and cellular analytes with unprecedented sensitivity.

Robert Langer

Dr. Langer is an MIT Institute Professor, the highest honor for a faculty member at MIT. He has written more than 1,400 articles.  He also has over 1,300 issued and pending patents worldwide. Dr. Langer has received over 220 major awards; he is one of four living individuals to have received both the United States National Medal of Science (2006) and the United States National Medal of Technology and Innovation (2011).

Chad Mirkin

Dr. Mirkin is the director of Northwestern’s International Institute of Nanotechnology,the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University. Mirkin discovered and developed spherical nucleic acids (SNAs), dip-pen nanolithography and numerous other contributions to supramolecular chemistry. He is the author of over 720 manuscripts and over 1,100 patent applications worldwide, and the founder of multiple companies, including AuraSense, Exicure, TERA-print, and CDJ Technologies. He has received more than 130 national and international awards for his work.

Sir Fraser Stoddart

Dr. Stoddart is a Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and a member of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University. Stoddart became one of the few chemists to have opened up a new field of chemistry during the past 25 years by introducing an additional type of bond (the mechanical bond) into chemical compounds. His introduction of the mechanical bond has been responsible for putting chemists at the forefront of the burgeoning field of molecular nanotechnology, with implications ranging from information technology to health care. He received the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for this work.